web analytics
Menu
Booking / La Petite Foret

Reviews

See what previous guests have said about the chalet in reviews…we are always happy to hear from you and have incorporated many suggestions!
You can also read our reviews on other sites:

Based on 23 reviews.
Jona
Jona
2021-10-09
If you’re visiting Chamonix, you need to stay at Martha’s chalet. It will make all the difference and transform what would have been a good trip into a magical one. I was impressed by how thoughtfully everything was designed, from the chalet itself to the interior design and amenities provided. Everything is arranged with consideration for comfort and aesthetics (Martha has an incredible eye for design!) for a luxurious stay. From a yoga mat to a foam roller, candles and lighter for romantic evenings, Egyptian cotton bathrobes to all the kitchen equipment you’d need for a longer stay, Martha has arranged everything you’d need to feel at home. Every space was spotless and free of clutter. As a testament to how clean the place was, even as a person with severe allergies to dust, mould, and animals, I had no allergic reactions at all. The hot tub and sauna are to dream of - perfect for relaxing after a day of hiking. The location of the chalet was also quite special. It is remote enough to give you a sense of absolute peace away from the hustle and bustle of the outside world, but close enough to the town centre that even as a solo traveler with no car or bike, I had no problem getting around at all. The hospitality I experienced was beyond anything I’ve ever experienced. From check-in to check-out, communication with Martha couldn’t have been smoother. She replied to all of my questions within minutes, if not seconds. On the day of check-in, she even offered to pick me up at a nearby hotel because it was raining, saving me from a miserable walk in the mud and cold with all of my luggage! Once I was settled, she dropped by for a welcome meeting in which she explained how everything works and gave me the most thoughtful recommendations for my trip, from restaurants to hikes. She was like a personal tour guide! All of her suggestions were perfect for me and thanks to Martha, I had an epic time during my week in Chamonix. Martha was also incredibly helpful. She helped me with everything: from lighting the fire in the sauna to lifting the cover on the hot tub, arranging laundry, and so much more. Without a doubt, Martha’s kindness, hospitality, and her exquisite chalet made my trip a very memorable one. I can’t wait to be back. Thank you so much for everything, Martha!
Alexander
Alexander
2021-10-03
Ich bin selten sprachlos, aber la petit foret hat das geschafft! Eine der wunderschönsten Oasen überhaupt, extrem liebevoll errichtet und ausgestattet, sehr viel Geschmack und ein Blick fürs Detail. Martha und ihre Chalet Managerin Nadine waren sehr sehr freundlich, hilfsbereit und immer für uns da, obgleich sie sehr auf unsere Privatsphäre geachtet haben. Bei gutem Wetter ist der Blick in jede Richtung einfach umwerfend. Alles in allem: 5 Sterne deluxe! ❤
Joanna
Joanna
2021-09-01
From enquiring on availability through to check-out, Martha went above and beyond on customer service. She has a fab folder full of information on the local area, including restaurant reviews. It’s very thorough. She also provided advice to us before departure on travelling with our dog which was really appreciated. And the chalet is INCREDIBLE. We absolutely loved it. Didn’t want to leave. The setting is idyllic. You will be surrounded by beautiful views. The place is spotless and clean, and it’s well stocked with high quality utilities and kitchenware for cooking. Which is really handy if you fancy cooking during your stay. The living area is very comfortable, as were the beds/bedrooms. Needless to say the hot tub was great and the sauna. The garden is spacious and there’s nice furniture to relax on. In terms of location, it’s close to walks into the valley, and it’s just a short walk to the lovely local village. There’s a bus into chamonix but we found we often walked as it was a nice stroll through some woodland. All in all, it was a stay to remember and we hope to return!
Sebastien
Sebastien
2021-08-25
Notre séjour s'est très bien passé, Martha nous a très bien accueilli, elle est vraiment très gentille, le chalet et la propriété sont très beaux, merci
Laura
Laura
2021-08-14
Nous avons passé un séjour parfait. Le chalet est décoré avec beaucoup de goût, il y a tout le nécessaire de cuisine et la situation géographique est impeccable (quelques minutes du centre ville de Chamonix). Les grandes baies vitrées avec la vue permanente sur la montagne est éblouissante. Nous recommandons !
Marco
Marco
2021-08-07
We had a great stay at Martha and Nick's truly exquisite chalet. There are amazing views all around. The jacuzzi and sauna are an extra special treat. We will definitely try to book again.
Guillaume
Guillaume
2021-05-24
Chalet très chaleureu, hôte disponibleet sympathique
Barbara
Barbara
2021-05-16
Le lieu, le chalet, les équipements et les propriétaires sont juste extra! On a qu'une envie, revenir par toutes saisons et rester plus longtemps!!
Patrick
Patrick
2021-04-10
We had an amazing stay at the Petite Foret! Just the perfect place for a small family like ours!

Tripadvisor  – 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐      
Homeaway – 5/5 Exceptional ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐    
Facebook 5/5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A fabulous, lovely and cosy chalet !!!

THANK you very much for letting us using your chalet! We all enjoyed it VERY VERY much!!! A fabulous, lovely and cosy chalet!!!

Our kids were very unhappy to leave your chalet and our younger one asked to be left behind. He liked it so much he could have moved there :-)))

Also all us adults loved the hot tub and the sauna was great (as we are from Finland we especially liked it of course)
We will warmly recommend your chalet and hopefully one day we can return to it! Not to mention the excellent skiing we had as well!! Lovely and quite quiet in the slopes this time of the year as well!! We were sooo lucky and could ski every day!!
C.H., Finland

“Extremely comfortable, spacious, homely and brilliantly appointed”

Your chalet is a total winner – we all loved it!
It’s extremely comfortable, spacious, homely and brilliantly appointed. We all agreed it was a sure thing for next time!
I don’t really have any negative feedback at all and found your communication and entire process slick and honest.
My sister and brother-in law are hoping to book the chalet at the end of the year – so look out for the inquiry. Thanks!

O.P., Capetown

“Fantastic”

We are back from our wonderful 2 weeks spent in Chamonix. Thank you for letting us stay in your chalet. The territory near chalet and the location are fantastic which helped a lot in organizing kids activities daily. It was a great pleasure meeting you and your team.

I.P., Moscow

“We had a fabulous time”

We had a fabulous time in the chalet, it was ideal for us – thank you!
To be honest I can’t really fault anything, it was immaculately clean and tidy, very well appointed, comfortable beds (we were in the mazot, luckily we are both quite small!) and so easy to get everywhere. Your website is excellent, it has everything you could possibly ever need to know about, and booking was very straightforward. The hot tub was great for sore muscles after a day in the mountains, it was gorgeous sitting in it late at night and looking at the stars. The kitchen was great, we did struggle a little with fridge space but that is only because of all the beer and wine and we did have an overflow one in the mazot! (We have since replaced the fridge, M.T.) We made full use of the new outdoor table, it was brilliant, and the umbrella was great too and offered some much needed shade.

All in all a great holiday, I’m sure we will be back one day soon, I’d love to see the chalet in the snow!

A.L., London 

“We loved the ambience of the chalet”

I think what stood out for us was that almost everything was so well thought-out and so well prepared, to the point where one night we couldn’t find the fuel for the fondue and I just kept insisting “I’m sure it’s somewhere, everything must be somewhere, I just can’t imagine Martha hadn’t prepared it.”

Of course we loved the hot-tub, but I imagine you hear that a lot. It was definitely far beyond what we could have expected. We loved the ambience of the chalet, the setup and the decoration and the facilities you’ve put in place. The ski shed key locker and boots-vent, the mazot, the sauna were all so cleverly done. We also really appreciated the fully equipped kitchen – for us cooking and enjoying a wholesome dinner was an essential part of the chalet experience and having such a well-prepped kitchen made a big difference.

We were also hugely impressed with your info preparations – the booklets and info pages, they were so well done! I’m in marketing myself, and I just kept thinking, I wish all the marketing people in my company would be so customer-dedicated. Everything felt like it was done to make our stay more convenient and enjoyable, it made a big difference.
H.H.H., Paris 

“Everything was great”

“We had a wonderful time at the chalet, everything was great – thank you! The weather was amazing and I even managed to drag my mum up the aiguille du midi – it was stunning as usual. Looking forward to returning to the chalet soon. I’ve got some lovely photos! You’re very lucky to own such a wonderful place – it’s our dream to have a place there one day!

Thanks again and hope to speak to you about re-booking at some point!

S.W., London

“Every house is a book talking about who lived there: this one was plenty of good feelings, good taste and it keeps perfect harmony with its environment. “

First of all thank you for everything. I was first impressed by the web site, then convinced by your emails and now satisfied by Lou’s attendance, the house itself and your hospitality.Booking process was easy, the web site is a hit! The email communication worked perfectly and the friendly management was a key point for us. Location much better than expected, we were glad to be outside the ‘UTMB fever’ for a while and the town is beautiful. Level of comfort is very good, beds are fantastic (which is always hard to find). Facilities were good in general, the few things that did not work 100% are not significant. (we had some problems with our ADSL line at the time – martha). The garden was real amusement park for the girls, the views surpassed expectations and the neighbors were non-existent so we enjoyed total privacy (extra-ball!).

Every house is a book talking about who lived there: this one was plenty of good feelings, good taste and it keeps perfect harmony with its environment. I really appreciate all the small details and the consistent style (materials, colors, textures, and so on) you kept for the inside/outside of the house.It’s great to see you love mountains and the love put in the construction of the house.

To be Improved? Please keep it as it is and let us enjoy it again in the future!

Carlos Ortet, Barcelona

“The chalet…exceeded by far our expectations. “

I just wanted to drop you a line to say how much the family and I all enjoyed our holiday @ Chalet La Foret. Without question, every aspect from the Chalet, Sarah the Chef or Lou and Andy exceeded by far our expectations.

The holiday worked for all of us, even the non-skiers! The fact I can now snowboard is perhaps the most surprising of all!
Without question I’d recommend your Chalet and I hope to be able to arrange our skiing trip next year along the same lines.

M.C., Loughborough

“One of the best holidays I have had”

“Everyone said it was the best week’s skiing they had experienced. We all had a fantastic time – we loved the chalet and Chamonix in general. My feedback is:
website – excellent. Very informative and a key feature in attracting us to the chalet.
Promptness of response – excellent.
Ease of booking – extremely easy.
The chalet itself – everyone loved the chalet and we would stay there again without a second’s thought. I would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Spacious, comfortable, well presented, well equipped and in a lovely location.
Lou did a great job.
Information provided – excellent.
Location – excellent and extremely picturesque.
Presentation and level of comfort – first rate.
Standard of cleanliness – first rate.
Most memorable aspect of your stay? Impossible to pick one aspect – one of the best holidays I have had.”
J.M., London 

“We really enjoyed our stay!”

“We really enjoyed our stay!
The chalet was wonderful and we used all the extra’s: the fireplace, the sauna and the hot tub.
Location was better than expected, I thought the walk towards la Flegere would be much longer. We were also pleasantly surprised that the bus towards Grands Montets was so close.
We also enjoyed the books, especially the one with fondue recipes:-)”

N.R., Amsterdam

“Once again A BIG THANKYOU we had the best time.”

“Firstly we loved it truly.. it was everything we were hoping for.

Cleanliness was first class…the girls were very thorough.

The presentation of the chalet was very homely, the master bed was really comfortable and all the other guests commented how their beds were great too.
The towels were especially nice as the usual in France are between a tea towel and a flannel!!

I was a bit concerned of the location when I booked the Chalet as we have always stayed in town, however, there was no need as I actually preferred being in Les Praz as the quietness outside the chalet was wonderful. Louise was at hand for any queries that we had, very helpful. Once again A BIG THANKYOU we had the best time.”

B.G., Northampton

“A magical place”

“Our stay at at Chalet la foret was magical. We were greeted by the first fall of the season and made the most of it by having a nightime hot tub, marveling at the pine forest and the silence as the snow fell. The Chalet was comfy and cosi and had everything we needed.

We woke up to sparkling views of snow topped mountains and laden pine trees. The kids had a great time playing in the extensive and enclosed garden. Nightimes were spent eating local food – the raclets were amazing – and reading by the fire. The scenery is breathtaking, loads of activitys for kids, the town is lovely – we especially enjoyed the saturday morning market.

Cant wait to come back !”

V.E., London 

“Wonderful…”

“The second time we have stayed at Chalet la Foret. It has a wonderful homely feel, cozy and warm – whilst spacious, the bedrooms are very comfortable and the kitchen’s superbly equipped. There’s a big bath in the bathroom and a superb wetroom.

Situated in a wooded area of Les Praz village – the view across the garden and over the woods to the mountains is spectacular [especially from the hot tub].

It’s a 5 minute stroll to the Flegere cable car and because Lez Praz is -geographically- halfway between Brevent and Grand Montet, they are a short car or bus ride away… The skiing in Chamonix is truely amazing.

T.M, York 

“Stunning!”

We had a truly lovely holiday and would like to thank you for a lovely time! The Chalet was absolutely beautiful… the house and its surroundings! The children loved exploring the woods, the treehouse and the hot tub! The lovely country, farmhouse kitchen made at eat at home most evenings… and the great tv and playstation kept them amused in the evening too!

We would you rate your facilities as …

Website- easy to use, full of useful information, and great to show off photos to friends and family!

Promptness of response to your initial inquiry- incredible, phoned directly, booked within an hour!

Ease of booking- great, speedy, lots of useful information to use in Chamonix!

Driving directions- great…

Arrival impressions of the property- beautiful! Just wanted to explore….

Presentation and level of comfort- very good… beds were very comfy and bathrooms were lovely! Only suggestion I would make would be to pre heat the Chalet before guests arrive… we were pretty cold the first evening and it took the men a few hours to work out!

(Many thanks for letting us know, it won’t happen again! M)

Standard of cleanliness- excellent! Met the lady who cleans the Hot tub and her son… she was lovely, and had a long chat with her about her fantastic life in Chamonix! Charlie ran around with our children and played in the glorious garden in the beautiful sunshine!

Value for money- reasonable… although quite pricey, did spend a lot of time there as it was so lovely! Which saved money on restaurants and bars! Similarly priced to other Chalets!

Had a lovely time and will definitely be back… the Chalet and its grounds were stunning! A great holiday- thank-you!”

A.S., London

“Great place to stay in Chamonix”

“This is a fantastic chalet, close to the Flegere lift, so you don’t need to wait for the skibus. The facilities are great, free-wifi, hot-tub, wetroom, and a generous drinks cabinet 😉 The little outside cottage is ideal if you want some privacy, and the garden is huge with a dedicated boot-room with boot dryers. Well recommended if you are looking for a place with a group of friends”

T.S. London 

“A dream place in a dream location”

“We have found our perfect alpine chalet, with all the home comforts and necessities a family could need. Chalet la Foret is both incredibly spacious & yet very cosy. The views from the house & garden, both day & night are without a doubt the most spectacular we’ve seen. We will definitely be returning here with & without the kids again & again!”

N.J., London

You can also read our reviews on other sites:

Tripadvisor  – 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐      Homeaway – 5/5 Exceptional ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐    Facebook 5/5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐